…and the quest to see everything

15 Directors Meme

Ruth from FlixChatter responded to being tagged to do a 15 Directors Meme post she did two-ish weeks ago, and I did some proud begging for her to tag me because I like talking about my favourite directors. Or I think I did – it was hard going past 12. I changed the list compared to my pre-list on her comments section. And it took me a while to respond.

What I look for in a director’s work is beautiful cinematography, theatre-like scripts or energy, decent representation of strong female characters. Lastly, a sense of humour, preferably dark, like coffee I would only drink if I was lazy. List.

  1. Stanley Kubrick (Full Metal Jacket)
  2. Charles Laughton (The Night of the Hunter)
  3. Christopher Nolan (Inception)
  4. Quentin Tarantino (Kill Bill Vol. II)
  5. Woody Allen (Sleeper, Another Woman)
  6. Terrence Malick (The Thin Red Line ’98)
  7. Elia Kazan (East of Eden)
  8. Mike Nichols (The Graduate)
  9. Michael Haneke (Code Inconnu)
  10. Jane Campion (Bright Star)
  11. George Cukor (A Star is Born ’54)
  12. Alfonso Cuaron (Y Tu Mama Tambien)
  13. Sidney Lumet (Serpico)
  14. Lars von Trier (Dogville)
  15. Fritz Laing (Fury)

And now I have to tag ETA: six bloggers who have lives.

Jose, who talks about classics with wicked witches and fugly whores.
Simon, who reminds us that David Bowie played Andy Warhol in a movie.
Andy, who’s going to see Ellen Ripley cut a bitch.
Nick and Nathaniel. One’s very chipper and the other’s a quipper. Both are getting me really excited for the Oscars.
Farran, who reminded me that my birthday was also Constance Bennett Day.

For some reason, I think I know who they’re gonna pick, but I know they have the ability to surprise me and their own readers. 🙂

3 responses

  1. Cheers for Laughton. What a beautiful, sinister, evocative, hypnotic, and subtle movie he made with Night of the Hunter! If you have to leave one mark on the world as director, this is it.

    October 25, 2010 at 12:16 pm

  2. Indeed. The cinematography of Night of the Hunter cannot be topped.

    October 25, 2010 at 12:30 pm

  3. Awesome list!
    See if you got mine right, you probably did…hehe I’m easy.

    http://movieskickassblog.blogspot.com/2010/10/15-directors.html

    October 27, 2010 at 2:42 am

Leave a comment