…and the quest to see everything

Singin’ in the Dark 80’s

About time, eh? It’s been a month since Shawn Hitchins‘ Singin in the Dark, 80’s edition and it’s taking me just this time to write about the memory lane – or lack thereof – and the associations I remembered while watching his art piece.

Andrew McCarthy‘s face is so comically expressive that if was born sixty years earlier than he did, he would have given Chaplin a run for his money.

Did I have a chance to see Ferris Bueller’s Day Off on the big screen when I still had money to see and decided to skip it to argue with a good friend? Twice. Did I buy the DVD only to pop it in my laptop to get screen caps and never watch the whole thing? Yup.

We Asians are very visual. I caught more jokes from This is Spinal Tap than my mom while watching this on the big screen, but this ‘Big Bottom’ song flew right on top of our heads. Took some closed captioning to find it funny.

This song’s tune is really catchy but I didn’t realize the staccato lyrics were so hard to keep track of. Also haha, Lake Titicaca. And Appolonia. Purple Rain did not help my confused adolescent sexual identity at all.

Eh, close enough. Thoughts on Back to the Future here.

Remember that scene when he just eats a TV dinner without microwave-ing it? Yeah, me neither. We all know the scene but have never watched all or Risky Business, which is on tonight at 9 at the BLB. This movie is SLU-tty, like a straight man’s wet dream.

I love how I know none of the lyrics to any song in this series but when a Madonna clip comes on I don’t even have to look at the screen to sing the words. Anyway, the point she’s making in W.E. is that she wants to be that girl in this picture again. It’s up to you to decide if she can turn back the clock.

Beaches! It has the best post funeral scene ever which involves a fucking horse. Fucking rich people.

Thoughts on Flashdance here which I saw AFTER Dogtooth.

Andrew McCarthy again! Thoughts on Pretty in Pink here.

This song sucks without context.

I thought he was Robert Downey Jr. instead of Alan Cumming. Romy and Michelle’s High School Reunion was my favourite movie when I was ten, playing the soundtrack incessantly on tape. I don’t know if it’s my third world view but nobody in the late 90’s dressed like that. Also if Mira Sorvino and Lisa Kudrow made a movie together this year, it would be indie and awesome.

5 responses

  1. It’s either some acid from back in the day or your post but I am having a flashback.

    November 12, 2011 at 10:39 pm

  2. Romy and Michelle made me obsess with Cyndi Lauper’s “Time After Time” when I was about your age as well. I used to do the routine in my living room ALL the time.

    November 14, 2011 at 12:47 am

  3. 3guys1movie: Yay!

    Jose: When we eventually meet you gotta teach me. I don’t mind being the Rhoda to your Mary. Also, my fvaourite character in that whole movie was Jeanine (sp?) Garofalo.

    November 14, 2011 at 1:45 am

  4. Dan

    …I also started to listen to Cyndi Lauper’s Time After Time on repeat after seeing Romy and Michelle…as well as some other Lauper classics actually. Of course, that song on The Goonies is an 80’s great!

    …any feature that reminisces about the 80s gets me wanting to watch all these film again. Actually, I watched This Is Spinal Tap again a few weeks ago. Love it – had to order a Spinal Tap t-shirt shortly afterward.

    November 14, 2011 at 8:06 am

    • There’s something about Cyndi Lauper that makes her seem like a true artist while her biggest rival, Madonna, was still doing pop songs. And I haven’t finished The Goonies yet and I’ve only seen the scene with the kiss. Younger Brolin and Plimpton are delightful.

      And I need to get this Spinal Tap t-shit. I remember watching this local show where esteemed critics talk about the greatest of all time. Kane! Casablanca! Then a contrarian said Spinal tap and I was so relieved that there are critics with a great sense of humour.

      November 14, 2011 at 2:32 pm

Leave a Reply

