…and the quest to see everything

Shout Outs

This post probably exists so that I can spread the comment love to the websites I write for.

I watched Joe Wright‘s Pride and Prejudice a long ass time ago and write at Yourkloset about it. I talked, or more appropriately, rambled on about a lot of things about the film, including Keira/Brenda Blethyn type casting, the camera movement, and a little about the costumes. I regrettably forget to talk about the sister casting and the reverse Bechdel Test.

‘You’re a serial killer.’ This is the greatest screen shot you will ever see in your entire life. It seems like the last few films I’ve written about are British films, but for Castor Troy of Anomalous Material, I fast forwarded a century or so to Richard Ayoade‘s Submarine, a movie that feels like its protagonist, Oliver Tate, is telling your his secrets without making it seem like purgation.

I’ve also been reading Charles Frazier‘s Cold Mountain after accidentally rewatching the film adaptation in French. I’m not being pretentious because I’ve lost all the French I’ve studied in Grade 9. I bought the book a long time ago after seeing a store closing shop, and I thought that reading it might add to what I might write about the film. The lyrical prose is a positive influence to the four unwritten movie reviews dancing inside my head but not on this post, sadly. I’m at page 49 now which is actually good but also means that I won’t get to write about it ’till next week and that I’m procrastinating.

2 responses

  1. I will forever defend COLD MOUNTAIN. Maybe not as one of the finest films made, but a more than serviceable adaptation presented with gusto by Minghella (and Nicole is great in it).

    June 27, 2011 at 12:27 pm

    • As I’m reading the book, it’s obvious that the two are different interpretations and even different philosophies of the same story. It’s like one great image after another. Even the film’s flaws, including Nicole Kidman’s shaky accent, feel perfect for the film.

      June 27, 2011 at 1:46 pm

Leave a Reply

