…and the quest to see everything

Ghost Rider 2: The Spirit of Vengeance

Ugh, why do I bother? Neveldine-Taylor’s Ghost Rider 2: The Spirit of Vengeance recounts the back story of the comic book because no one bothered to watch the first Ghost Rider movie. This second installment begins in ‘Eastern Europe’ just in case the powers that be who birthed this movie thought that their audience was stupid enough to use their phones to look up where Romania was in the map. Think about that while they set the ending in a specific place in Turkey, which is apparently the furthest place from heaven. Like what did Turkey ever do to deserve that? It’s a movie of locales, stopping by an American diner in between the kinetic 3D highlighting the majestic rock formations and structures of Europe and ‘Europe.’ If you count Turkey as part of the European continent and union but anyway….

And speaking of 3D, there’s some nice fetishistic shoe and sequins closeups that are nice and all. Nicolas Cage as Johnny Blaze goes crazy only and disappointingly once as he gets a deal from a French rogue priest (Idris Elba, with a questionable accent) to rescue a boy from being anointed as the Devil’s (Ciaran Hinds) son. Blaze and a younger woman, who is the child’s mother, go from point a to point b to carry out this mission and Blaze doesn’t even hit on her. Neveldine-Taylor combines biker Gothic pathos with infantile subculture humour but we just really want the campy version of the latter and we don’t get enough of that. In essence, we’re talking about the first boring Nicholas Cage movie, which is a shame. Anthony Head of Buffy fame cameos as a monk who dies way too soon. 1/5

10 responses

  1. Really Paolo, why? Why would you even watch this film?

    March 6, 2012 at 12:51 pm

    • There were some press people and I got hookups. But yes, I thought it was going to be as funny and crazy as the first shot but alas, not.

      March 6, 2012 at 3:19 pm

  2. rtm

    I thought the first one was horrid so there’s no way I’d see this one even if someone paid me. I think Neveldine-Taylor’s stuff just isn’t my style.

    March 6, 2012 at 11:09 pm

    • I’m kind of curious to see the first one because apparently it was aware of how silly it is. But yes, I knew you wouldn’t like movies like this. You’re not a violent person.

      March 7, 2012 at 1:13 am

  3. Dan

    Like Ruth, I thought the first film was very poor and another in a long line of bad Nick Cage films. I’m surprised a sequel was made but I’m not surprised by the negative reviews it has been receiving.

    March 7, 2012 at 8:37 am

    • That’s kind of the point with Nic Cage, that his acting is supposed to be fascinating although and because his movies are terrible. But you’re right about the sequel. I think it’s almost the same case with Superman that they’re trying to make things darker but it didn’t work.

      March 7, 2012 at 1:15 pm

  4. Pingback: Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance (2011) | smartkaksha.com

  5. yaykisspurr

    The head and fire special effects just cost way to much to do justice to any sort of story…so they hand it off to anyone who will make them even a little money trying to bank on fans…

    March 16, 2012 at 1:46 am

  6. Saw we both killed this one on the LAMB boards. Not even a so bad it’s good type-of-thing. Just a so bad it’s actually-worse-than-I-thought situation.

    Enjoyed the review.

    March 25, 2012 at 12:22 am

  7. David

    Ok I feel some one needs to defend this movie from the movie snobs. Was this the best movie ever made? No, not by a long shot. Did this movie make me want to hunt down the makers and crucify them? No, again not even close. I walked away from this movie not hating it. There were some moments that made me laugh, and some I thought were kind of cool. Im not a big Ghost Rider fan to begin with, only really enjoying a couple of story lines in the comic, but this movie made me want to dig through my endless stacks of comics to reread those story’s I liked.

    If I were to talks any trash about this movie, remember one mans trash is anothers treasure, I would say that its a movie you would want to catch on TV. I saw rented it cheap, so yeah. It I would have seen this in the theater after paying full price, yeah I would of been a little annoyed. But in the end I thought I got what I expected out it.

    And I know people will rip me apart for liking it, or not jumping on the band wagon of hate, dont care, hate and rip away, I am aloud to enjoy what I want.

    June 15, 2012 at 5:38 pm

Leave a Reply

