…and the quest to see everything

Seduction and Jerry Maguire

The titular Jerry Maguire (Tom Cruise) wears two shirts two sizes too big to a Mexican restaurant. Afterwards, he walks his single mother of a date (Renée Zellweger) up her porch and hands her the leftovers. He meekly and respectfully pecks her on the lips but she reaches for his neck and returns the favour. They try to tell each other good night, trying to set each other’s boundaries. But they do things on that porch what they could do in a place that has four walls.

This is what sex could look like in movies. Director Cameron Crowe and his chooses to show kisses and close-ups of the two fully clothed lovers’ faces together. A director could plop a tripod near a wall of a dimly lit bedroom but there’s something in the implicit and romantic that makes two people falling in love look like an art form. This reminds me one of the earlier scenes in Frank Capra’s You Can’t Take It with You, Cruise and Zellweger whispering to each other like Jimmy Stewart and Ann Sh…Jean Arthur, both couples basking in stylized warmth.

Another great aspect of their romance is that they’re surrounded by people who love each other, including Cuba Gooding Jr., who won an Oscar for his role here and Regina King, who plays Gooding Jr.’s wife.

I remember seeing this movie when I was younger but not this scene. I just remember the first part and another one with Zellweger and a then young and nerdy-looking Jonathan Lipnicki, who plays her son in a car. Or maybe he was in the car with Cruise. Anyway, the scene I’m describing in the past two paragraphs feel like something I would have seen as a child. God knows which movie couples whom kids are watching and learning from these days. I also don’t remember – and correct me if I’m wrong – Cruise doing anything further than this despite of his Hollywood crush object status. His character in Eyes Wide Shut was probably the most sexually frustrated one.

And the joke is that I can’t even stand these two people. Couldn’t then, couldn’t now. But still, I really like how effective this scene is.

5 responses

  1. ahhh i adore this movie. you really broke down this scene quite well.

    November 14, 2011 at 8:25 pm

  2. I haven’t seen this in such a long time. I remember very much enjoying it though!!

    Why can’t life be like the movies? I would have loved to have felt the foot pop, or birds flying when I met my wife…LOL Actually it was pretty close!!

    🙂

    November 15, 2011 at 1:59 am

  3. Thanks, Candice! 🙂

    Scott: I was actually thinking about that. I wanna do a year-end list either for Castor or myself about “Random Movies That Remind Me Of Real Life” but it’s all like fucked up movies. But yeah, my life reminds me of Gus Van Sant’s films between 2002-2007, just like most of us. Like five minutes of me walking down a hall. Other movies will be like Reichardt’s work and Ballast.

    November 15, 2011 at 2:07 am

  4. This post reminds me of a master post I wanted to do for the blog, but am just too lazy to get started on. Eh, whatever.

    In other news, I’ve always found JERRY MAGUIRE to be a really *clean* movie, like very not-gritty even though it has cursing and sex, it’s all just very…clean. Does that make sense?

    November 15, 2011 at 7:37 pm

    • Don’t worry. I have given up on master posts and won’t make one till the year end. But don’t and take one for the team. Only I should be the lazy one in movie blogosphere.

      Maybe that’s why I like it, which is weird because I like dirty stuff. Besides, Cameron Crowe is the clean king. He makes drunken high school parties, grunge (Reality Bites DVD unopened in my closet!) and the 70’s look like a walk in the park. Maybe he got way too ahead of himself with Elizabethtown.

      November 15, 2011 at 10:22 pm

Leave a Reply

