…and the quest to see everything

Footloose and The Three Musketeers

I’ll just do this so we can have some catching up to do. Here’s Footloose for ANOMALOUS MATERIAL. Sam’s more sober review is first, scroll down aaand there’s mine. With hindsight, what I say about it might be what everyone says about the Halloween party before the hangover begins. Or in the case of this movie, when the drunk teenagers crash the car to their own deaths. Nonetheless, I stand by my old statement that I like trashy movies, I like movies about dancing, I like movies about the South. And I’m making the three prong hand gesture right now.

Then there’s Paul W.S. Anderson‘s The Three Musketeers, starring his wife Milla Jovovich, who tells you her favourite colour but not really. As I said in the comments section of another blog, if this movie had papier-mâché sets, I would have given this movie an A. I do like the blurry 3D as a way to show a visual point of view being dragged or woken up. And shiny objects!

4 responses

  1. Both of these I SORT of want to see, but neither of which I want to pay for or spend two hours of my time on. The problems snobs like me face. Incidentally, I’m sort of still annoyed that Footloose ISN’T the adaptation of the Broadway musical which I thought it was and I’m still sad for Orlando Bloom who I’m still hoping against hope will murder Rupert Friend and take back his career. Not that Rupert Friend is doing much acting now but….hmmm, where was I going with this comment, again?

    October 31, 2011 at 9:03 am

    • a) Thank God I paid for neither, but that’s a good thing to not wanting to pay for certain movies.
      b) I didn’t know that they have already Broadway-ized Footloose although I’m not sure how I would be able to handle a version like that. I like what Craig Brewer did with it and how down and dirty the movie felt.
      c) I like Rupert Friend more although he has the semblance of versatility. Orlando Bloom has been doing the same thing for ten years and was offered bad boy roles and only took one now.

      November 1, 2011 at 11:34 am

  2. There actually is a Broadway version of Footloose from 1999, I think which got surprisingly good reviews…so, I don’t know what they’re waiting on.

    November 2, 2011 at 5:57 pm

    • For some reason I would rather have had this remake than a musical version although of course a) I need to hear some of the songs in the Broadway adaptation (have these songs made it on singers’ repertoires?) to know if they’re serviceable/good and b) it sure worked for Hairspray.

      November 3, 2011 at 3:59 pm

Leave a Reply

