…and the quest to see everything

Dear Sam Raimi, I forgot…

ph. Columbia

…how cringe-inducing Spider-Man 3 was, as Peter Parker (Tobey Maguire) strut around the streets of Gotham City looking like Hipster Hitler. The girls he hits on know better, but the fictional superhero has still become less human. Peter becomes his own super villain,  less sympathetic than the son (James Franco) avenging his father’s (Willem Dafoe) death or a new journalistic photographer (Topher Grace) younger than Peter. Why are all these people dudes?

I understand you were trying to be zeitgeist-y, with references to emo culture or the The Pick-Up Artist or to more serious, generational anxieties. Two of the villains’ names are Venom and Sandman (Thomas Haden Church), both names could be read as Middle Eastern references. Or that there were many buildings falling down in this movie. Six years after 9/11, it didn’t seem too shocking or too soon, but I already mentioned this bloated, rough film’s other flaws.


4 responses

  1. Yet again I must tell a disbelieving public that I actually LIKE Spiderman 3. The weakest of the trilogy, yes, but I still find it interesting and entertaining. I wouldn’t even try to put together a logical defense, the odds are against me.

    May 27, 2011 at 6:11 pm

  2. It’s better than the first Spiderman, to be honest. The spectacle of that scene when Mary Jane was on Broadway, no matter how faulty her singing was. That’s it.

    May 29, 2011 at 1:30 am

  3. Haha totally agree with you. LOLd at Hipster Hitler, so true.

    Definitelty hope the reboot is not going to pick off from here.

    May 31, 2011 at 3:13 am

    • The pap shots of EmmaStone make me think that there’s a more revered tone in the reboot. I still think it’s too soon for a reboot, and like Audrey Hepburn would say, I don’t know who Marc Webb is and I don’t know why he’s making such a big movie.

      June 2, 2011 at 12:37 am

Leave a Reply

