…and the quest to see everything

Indefensible – Go Speed Racer Go!

I actually won passes to Go Speed Racer Go! at a CINSSU Free Friday Film screening but I was in college and busy and lazy so I didn’t. Norman Wilner of NOW Magazine has talked trash about this movie for at least a week now, but judging from the trailer, and as a gay man, the art direction in Speed Racer doesn’t offend me. Yet.

Speed Racer is playing at the Toronto Underground Cinema at 7 at night as part of the Andrew Parker’s Defending the Indefensible series. Proceeds go to charity.

5 responses

  1. Man, I wish I could go see this tonight (other plans unfortunately). I had mixed reactions the first time I saw it on DVD. It’s gorgeous and there’s some quality acting and characters in spots. But there’s also that kid…And if you’ve seen it, you know what I mean. I hated that character so much, that it almost ruined the film. But there’s enough there that keeps calling me back for a second viewing – too bad it can’t be on the big screen tonight…

    I’d be curious what you think if you go.

    April 15, 2011 at 11:48 am

  2. If you see a guy in a black fleece pullover wearing a black Chicago White Sox cap – that’d be me. Say hi!

    April 15, 2011 at 12:07 pm

  3. Bob: I’m not even sure if there’s enough for me to say about it in a 250-word or more blog format. The emotional output from the actors are so cut up by the editing that I couldn’t invest any sympathy into any of the characters. Also, Susan Sarandon making peanut butter and jelly sandwiches is the most demeaning thing I’ve ever seen a woman do in a film. And I’ve seen Salo.

    Mad Hatter: I saw no such person :(. I wore red pants?

    April 16, 2011 at 3:13 am

  4. Wow, I don’t actually remember the PB&J scene. Though I liked the portrayals of the Mom and Dad from Sarandon and Goodman, I didn’t really have any emotional investment going on in the film. Sure was purty though…

    I am very curious to go back to some of the positive reviews of the film (and there are a bunch of people that like it), but I should probably watch it again first.

    April 19, 2011 at 1:31 pm

    • Yes. Even the racing scenes were boring. I said that out loud in the lobby and these tall nerds were surprised that I felt or reacted that way. I felt texture from the film and the visuals weren’t too garish. Maybe it’s the artificiality, or the switches in between that and some ‘real world’ shots…

      April 20, 2011 at 2:49 am

Leave a Reply

