…and the quest to see everything

The Luminous Kate Winslet


I realized how well April Wheeler (Kate Winslet) is photographed in Sam Mendes’ Revolutionary Road. She’s often wearing white or bright colours. Summer colours, like she’s on a permanent summer vacation in the Hamptons, or stuck in heaven. Or more than likely sitting or standing near a window. Frank Wheeler (Leonardo di Caprio) has a beautiful wife and so did director Sam Mendes, and the latter wanted to show that off. And it’s like there’s light within her but, as per the movie, I have the feeling that that light in her is clamped down.

Revolutionary Road is gonna be screening at the Revue Cinema at 7 tonight, with an introduction and post-screening discussion led by Toronto critic Geoff Pevere. I’m still wondering whether I’m going or not. I don’t particularly wanna slit my wrists tonight. I also don’t wanna see couples masochistically watching the movie and coming out talking about the performances, because they don’t wanna talk about Frank and April’s relationship. I also think about the numerous casting possibilities if this movie have been greenlighted earlier (Paul and Joanne, Mia and Robert, Jessica and William, Julianne and Dennis). I’ll give the movie another shot, and hopefully, so will you.

3 responses

  1. rtm

    Kate Winslet is sublime! She is one of those classically beautiful actress that even playing a plain jane like in The Reader, her beauty still shines through. I haven’t seen this movie, but as I did a post for Leo, I realize I really should see this soon.

    July 22, 2010 at 2:37 pm

  2. She does a lot of great expression work in The Reader. There’s that scene in the streetcar where she’s almost unrecognizable as Kate/Hanna. And it was such a landmark role for her because it’s her first adult/mature role, whereas in other movies she’s this idealistic kid trapped in an adult body.

    July 22, 2010 at 6:44 pm

  3. The casting.

    July 26, 2010 at 3:24 am

Leave a Reply

